Blog Tour - Review: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn (+Giveaway)

Donnerstag, 1. Juni 2017


   I'm very excited to be part of the blog tour for this book. Pintip Dunn has become one of my favorite authors so I was very excited to receive her book early and be part of this.

Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn
Expected publication:
June 27th 2017 by Kensington

Number of Pages: 256 Pages (Paperback)
Series: No

   From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.
   In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.
   When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong… (goodreads.com)

*I received an eARC in exchange for my honest opinion. Thank you.*

   I love Pintip's writing and I have read all of her books, so I was very happen when I got to read Girl on the Verge early. Unlike with her other books, this one took me a few pages to really get into the story, but once I did, I couldn't put it down anymore. Personally I love books that can show me something I'm not familiar with, like in this case Thai culture and the struggle you face when trying to balance two cultures within you and figuring out who you want to be.
   When asked for #ownvoice recommendations, this is the story of book I would honestly recommend since the level of discussion and exploration in it is truly amazing and makes it easy to understand how someone like Kanchana must feel. For that alone I'm already very happy that I've gotten to read this book. I'm sure it would be even more valuable for someone who is Thai-American like Kanchana and could thus truly identify with her experience and struggle.

   Speaking of which, I really liked Kanchana, her voice was interesting and she seemed like someone I could genuinely imagine being friends with. Shelly on the other hand was quite...something. You could immediately feel that there was this weird aura around her that definitely made me curious and coaxed me into wanting to continue reading to find out more. Pintip does an amazing job when it comes to characterization.

   The mystery aspect of the story with all the details that were uncovered about Shelly across the story was amazingly orchestrated and well paced. I definitely enjoyed slowly seeing Shelly show her true self and the effects she had on Kanchana's life the more the story progressed.

   All in all Girl on the Verge is an amazing read that I can more than recommend. If you've read any of Pintip's other books you'll definitely enjoy this one, too, at least I did. She has shown how amazing of an author she is in this one once again and I will definitely continue to read anything she decides to write in the future.
I give Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn 5 out of 5 stars.

* * *

Purchase
Amazon // B&N // iBooks // Kobo

   Pintip Dunn is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.
   Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. Her debut novel, FORGET TOMORROW, won the RWA RITA® for Best First Book. Her other novels include THE DARKEST LIE, REMEMBER YESTERDAY, and the novella BEFORE TOMORROW.
   She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at www.pintipdunn.com


Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Kommentare:

  1. Great review, Alice! This sounds like an entertaining read and the characters seem very three dimensional, too!

    AntwortenLöschen
  2. Simply want to say your work is outstanding. The clarity in your post is simply excellent and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work. I think this is engaging and eye-opening material. Thank you so much for caring about your content and your readers.

    Visit : custom essay writing service

    AntwortenLöschen