Review: The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion by Chris McCoy

Dienstag, 19. Mai 2015

The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion by Chris McCoy
Published: April 14th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Number of Pages: 272 Pages (Hardcover)
Series: No

It's Superbad meets Spaceballs in this hilarious extraterrestrial road trip!
Just a few days before prom, Bennett pulls off something he never imagined possible: his dream girl, Sophie, agrees to be his date. Moments afterward, however, he watches Sophie get abducted by aliens in the middle of the New Mexico desert.
Faced with a dateless prom (and likely kidnapping charges), Bennett does the only thing he can think of: he catches a ride into outer space with a band of extraterrestrial musicians to bring her back.
Can he navigate alien concert venues, an extraterrestrial reality show, and the band's outlandish egos to rescue his date in time for the big dance? Fans of King Dork and Winger won't want to miss this. (goodreads.com)

   This book was beyond hilarious and just gigantic fun adventure on a whole new level. Completely crazy but brilliant at the same time with diverse characters, a wonderful main character and a, considering the plot of this book, very realistic ending.
   Generally, if you are looking for a book with a logical and realistic plotline than you are definitely wrong here because the plot is just really crazy with occasional conveniences, which might bug some people but I think they are rather expected considering this book plays in space with an alien rock band. When I first picked up The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion I wasn't sure if the blurb was serious with the "ride into outer space" and I also wondered how the author would describe said interstellar travel. I'm very happy with the way it was done and that he didn't try to overly explain how it works or why, it was just a fact and that's good.

"That's how you get the truck to go? You stroke the wheel and whisper that you love it?"
"Sometimes it gets insecure and needs to know that it's appreciated."

   I love the characters. Bennett is such a lovable, sarcastic and funny protagonist and narrator. He's had a crush on Sophie for like forever and it was just really funny to see him drive around the desert wondering what he's supposed to do, after she's been abducted by aliens, and then suddenly stumbles across a rock band tour bus.
   The band members were hilarious, especially Skark with his sassy, over the top dramatic ways. He was funny and also, in his own way, broken even though he decided to ignore that. Driver was super friendly and helpful, just like X, the only human member of the band. The band had problems with themselves and also their music, which made reading their journey along with Bennett even more fun as they evolved and grew as band. And their concerts and their locations were brilliant.


"If I know a word exists, I like to know it's meaning," she
said. "How about this: foist some ointment on my moist goiter."
I almost gagged. "I feel like you could go around saying
that sentence and just make people throw up on the spot."

   Another favorite of mine in this book are the dialogues which were just perfect. Witty, sassy, sarcastic and interesting. Personally this book could have even only been dialogues and I'd love it all the same. I have no clue how Chris McCoy managed to make those dialogues so spot on but I wish he'd teach me, be my sensei.
   It was also interesting to see how aliens see us humans, which was nicely presented by the human zoo which one of the alien races has built to trap humans in. It was a hilarious, but also very truthful, representation of how many people see and imagine Americans hidden inside this crazy story. I love it when books do that, hide commentaries about today’s society in places and ways you least expect it.


"I never went to college, but I may have some advice for you," said Skark.
"When you don't get something you want, give yourself a moment to feel
terrible around yourself, and when that's over, remember that all rejection means is
that every other possible path has just opened up to you. It's freedom."

   All in all The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion is a hilarious, crazy, space road trip which will make you laugh until you cry. The characters are amazing, the plot totally unrealistic for the most part but so much fun. This is one of those books you'll come back to every once in a while to just relax and laugh and have fun.
I give The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion by Chris McCoy 5 out of 5 Stars!

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar posten