Waiting on Wednesday: Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul

Mittwoch, 14. Oktober 2015

   Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine in which we discuss our most anticipated upcoming releases.

   The book:

Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul Cover
Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul
Expected Publication: October 27th 2015 by Balzer + Bray
Number of Pages: 304 Pages (Hardcover)
Series: No

   Underneath Everything is a seductive, gorgeously written debut about two girls bound by an obsessive and toxic friendship, perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and Courtney Summers.
   Mattie shouldn't be at the bonfire. She should be finding new maps for her collection, hanging out with Kris, and steering clear of almost everyone else, especially Jolene. After all, Mattie and Kris dropped off the social scene the summer after sophomore year for a reason. But now Mattie is a senior, and she's sick of missing things. So here she is. And there's Jolene: Beautiful. Captivating. Just like the stories she wove. Mattie would know—she used to star in them. She and Jolene were best friends. Mattie has the scar on her palm to prove it, and Jolene has everything else, including Hudson.
   But when Mattie runs into Hudson and gets a glimpse of what could have been, she decides to take it all back: the boyfriend, the friends, the life she was supposed to live. Problem is, Mattie can't figure out where Jolene's life ends and hers begins. Because there's something Mattie hasn't told anyone: She walked away from Jolene over a year ago, but she never really left. (goodreads.com)

   My thoughts:

   This book sounds absolutely amazing. I mean, a toxic friendship and an LGBTQ undercurrent, what more could you ask for? The cover is also really pretty, nice and simple with a interesting light blue font. I cannot wait to dive into this one, especially since I've had my eye on it for months now. Can it be October 27th already? Please?

   Let me know in the comments below or via twitter (@Alice_Reeds) which book you're waiting for this Wednesday!

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar posten